Local dealership vs out of state dealer

I'm a salesman at a small Chevy dealer in Maine (I'm 1 of 3 total salesmen). We travel up to 4 states away if absolutely necessary. I would go have a conversation with your local dealer to see if they are willing to work something out for you with the other dealer. If they wont, do what you gotta do, but I personally try to buy local, no matter what it is.

My only concern with doing any type of dealer swap is still being able to get a good deal after. 

My worst experience of this was when I had been dealing with a local GMC dealer (this dealer was 1 hour away) and they didn't have the truck I wanted.  I found the truck about 1 hour away from them (2 from me).  The sales guy said no problem we can do a dealer swap and agreed on price.

He got the truck, my wife and I drove to the dealership.  Test drive, they looked at my trade.  Everything was good.  

Sales manager came out and said no deal.  Full price and lowest trade value possible.  He said that the truck was a very desirable model with those options and he could sell at any time without any discounts.  I looked at my salesman and said WTF.  My salesman just put his head down and didn't say a word.  Never will go back.....  

My opinion tread carefully on dealer trades as they may be less inclined to come off full sticker as they know that is THE truck you want.

From a service stand point any dealership can/will do warranty work but if you bought it from the dealership you are having service done then they may treat you better.

On side note I am in Maine too.....