Exhaust Brake

Just got my 2020 AT4 2500 yesterday. I am new to a diesel truck. Wondering about this exhaust brake. Not a lot of info in the owners manual. The truck definitely stops better with exhaust brake on. My question is: is it ok to always run with exhaust brake on? You have to manually turn on the switch every time you start the truck so just wondering. Any info would be appreciated!

While it is extremely helpful slowing a trailer down without wearing out your brakes in short order, it has very little value and I would probably find it annoying for everyday driving. 

It it wouldn’t hurt anything though, so whatever you prefer. 

• 1 year later...

I had my Diesel Exhaust Brake in my Sierra 3500 on while pulling my fifth wheel from Texas to Florida last week. I turned it off for the return trip. I may be dreaming but i seem to have gotten better gas mileage on the way back with it off.

• Haha 1

14 minutes ago, George Mc said:

I had my Diesel Exhaust Brake in my Sierra 3500 on while pulling my fifth wheel from Texas to Florida last week. I turned it off for the return trip. I may be dreaming but i seem to have gotten better gas mileage on the way back with it off.

My TT is not very heavy, and I didn’t go too far, but I thought I noticed that too.

• 4 months later...
On 11/13/2020 at 11:01 AM, George Mc said:

That may have been because of the winds.  Makes a difference when you're in a tailwind vs headwind.  

• Like 1

• 2 years later...