Ball Joints Went Bad W/ Leveling Kit

I have an 07 NBS. Little over 28k miles. I did the truxx leveling kit with roughly 1500 miles on the truck after I bought it brand new. I've been hearing left front end noises for roughly 6 months now. I've taken it in numerous times and the only thing that ever found wrong was a broken sway link. They replaced that and the noise didn't go away. Well upon taking it this morning for inspection, they found both left and right ball joints were SHOT. They said they couldn't beleive I was still driving it, the left side is barely intact. Needless to say, they wouldn't let me leave with the truck, they put me in a rental. They know I did the leveling kit, but they didn't say anything about it causing the bad ball joints. They said they've never seen them go bad or look this bad on one of these trucks. Could the leveling kit have caused this by any chance????

They also asked me if the trucks ever been offroad. It hasn't seen anything extreme. I ride quads every weekend and sometimes I drive deep into the woods with a trailor but it's nothing harse, Hell i don't even use 4x4. It's mostly grass type driving or off beat trails with small rocks, nothing major at all.

• Replies 61
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Yes, leveling kits will cause the balljoints to wear faster than stock. Its mostly due to the increased load angles, especiallly at 2+ over stock height.

1.5" MAX imo.

Edit: I'm actally looking forward to hearing more reviews on gmt900 leveling kits now that people are starting to get up in miles. Although the ride may not be as bad as gmt800s with leveling kits, that doesn't mean the parts aren't stressed. People gave me hell for doing a 3" body lift and said I should've done a 2.5" leveling kit instead.... But being an ex-mechanic I hated the idea of the steep control arm angles